Spotlighting the Pulsar Awards

By City Pulse Staff

The 2011 Pulsars, recognizing the best in Lansing theater, were presented Monday evening at a ceremony held at Riverwalk Theatre. The hosts included Bruce Wade, Evan Pinsonnault, Chad DeKatch, Tigi Habtemariam, Dana Brazil and Amanda Whitehead.

The panel of Pulsar judges is made up of Mary C. Cusack, Erin Buitendorp, Kathy Helma, Tom Helma, Ute von der Heyden and Paul Wozniak. More than 50 productions that opened between May 2011 and April of this year were evaluated and rated for this year’s field.

Best Play

“A Streetcar Named Desire” (Michigan State University)

Best Musical

“Legally Blonde” (Michigan State University)

Best Director/Play

Rob Roznowski, “A Streetcar Named Desire”

Best Director/Musical

Rob Roznowski, “Legally Blonde”

Best Lead Actor/Play

Doak Bloss, “Blackbird” (Peppermint Creek Theatre Co.)

Best Lead Actor/Musical

Wes Haskell, “Legally Blonde”

Best Lead Actress/Play

Christina Traister, “A Streetcar Named Desire”

Best Lead Actress/Musical

Erika Moul, “Legally Blonde”

Best Supporting Actor/Play

Edward O´Ryan, “The Gingerbread House” (Lansing Community College)

Best Supporting Actor/Musical

Landon Duyka, “Legally Blonde”

Best Supporting Actress/Play

Lela Ivey, “Next Fall” (Peppermint Creek Theatre Co.)

Best Supporting Actress/Musical

Trish Amanda Hubbard, “Legally Blonde”

Best Featured Actor/Play

Jeremiah Hawkins, “Ruined” (Peppermint Creek Theatre Co.)

Best Featured Actor/Musical

Scott Long, “Legally Blonde”

Best Featured Actress/Play

Leslie Hull, “A Streetcar Named Desire”

Best Featured Actress/Musical

Claudia Dibbs, “Legally Blonde”

Best Ensemble/Play

“Heroes” (Stormfield Theatre)

Best Ensemble/Musical

“The Usual” (Williamston Theatre)

Best Costumes

Mary K. Hodges-Nees and Patti Campbell, “Conspiracy” (Riverwalk Theatre)

Best Lighting

Katie Sprow, “Two 9/11 Plays” (Michigan State University)

Best Makeup

Susie Perazza, “Terra Nova” (Riverwalk Theatre)

Best Properties

Patricia A. York, “The Lady With All the Answers” (Stormfield Theatre)

Best Set Design

Rob Roznowski, “A Streetcar Named Desire”

Best Sound

Sergei Kvitko, “The Lady With All the Answers” (Stormfield Theatre)

Best Musical Direction

R. Mackenzie Lewis, “Legally Blonde”

Best Choreography

Dionte Brown, Travis Staton-Marrero and April Townsend, “Legally Blonde”

Best Original Script

Joseph Zettelmaier, “Dead Man´s Shoes” (Williamston Theatre)