An émigré from oppression, a rights advocate since grade school, a transgender leader, two health workers, a union that made domestic-partner benefits happen in a big way, and a newspaper that chronicles all things gay: Those are some characteristics of this year’s recipients of the second annual City Pulse LGBTQ Inclusion Awards on Thursday night.

The recipients this year are Rachel Crandall- Crocker, Emily Dievendorf, S. Hope Dundas, Delicious Jackson-Clark, Dwayne Riley, Nana Thierry, the newspaper Between the Lines and the UAW. You can learn more about all eight honorees in profiles appearing inside this section.

The awards party and ceremony begin at 7 p.m. at Spiral Dance Bar, 1447 Center St., in Lansing’s Old Town. Tickets are $20 in advance at or by calling (517) 999-6704 before 2:30 p.m. Thursday. Tickets at the door are $25.

Tickets include a party with heavy appetizers and half-price on all drinks — and a wrist band for the White Party the next night in Old Town as part of the annual Michigan Pride Festival. The wrist band has a $10 value.

The awards ceremony begins at 8 p.m. Sam Singh, the Democratic leader of the state House of Representatives, is the master of ceremonies.

Food is being provided by Zaytoon Mediterranean, Jersey Giant, Whipped, McAlister’s Deli, Eastside Fish Fry and Waterfront Bar & Grill.

Other sponsors are Spiral, The Plant Professionals, Capital Imaging and Absolute Gallery.

Alex Jackson of A&M Photography photographed the recipients for their individual awards, which are framed covers of City Pulse with their pictures on them.

Introducing the honorees will be state Sen. Curtis Hertel; journalist Todd Heywood, a 2016 honoree; Spiral general manager Liz Deatrick; 2016 honoree James McClurken; City Pulse editor and publisher Berl Schwartz; Ligia Romero-Balcarcel of the Lansing Area AIDS Network; 2016 honoree Dr. Erik Wert; and Dee Hurlbert, director of the LGBT Resource Center at Michigan State University.

This year’s winners were selected by a mix of 2016 honorees and community leaders.